Peace Corps Goals?

One of the earlier works. A nice little snapshot of my future as a dedicated smoker and Peace Corps Volunteer.

One of the earlier works. A nice little snapshot of my future as a dedicated smoker and Peace Corps Volunteer.

Orientation week I made the joke that one of my goals while in Peace Corps was to take up smoking. The thought was that, with some dedication and hard work, I would eventually reach a point in my service where I would never not be smoking an extremely large cigar. This naturally led those to whom I was making the joke to imagine the various scenarios in which I would find myself with said cigar. From these imagined situations came a collection of cartoons depicting me, cigar in mouth, going about my future daily routines including teaching in schools, showering, and taking boat rides. The series is a work in progress and hopefully by the end of the two years here, I will have quite a stack of them to one day frame and chuckle at in my future home. I would like to thank the fine illustrators who got this project going, Lindsey Daugherty and Ryan Posey. They are both, obviously, extremely talented. Please see the PDF file below for the entire, up-to-date collection.

Ryan thoughtfully created this wheel of potential suitors for smoker Emily. As per usual, so accurate.

Ryan thoughtfully created this wheel of potential suitors for smoker Emily. As per usual, so accurate.

One morning my neck was sore from some Insanity workouts we had been doing, so I made the joke that in addition to taking up smoking, I would dedicate time to bulking up my neck muscles. It is a rather fetching look I think.

One morning my neck was sore from some Insanity workouts we had been doing, so I made the joke that in addition to taking up smoking, I would dedicate time to bulking up my neck muscles. It is a rather fetching look I think.

This was the one morning I was out of coffee and I was suffering (I may be resigned to the instant stuff, but I still need it). I was so obsessed with the thought of coffee that in a teaching exercise I wrote an entire paragraph describing the perfect cappuccino, prompting Lindsey to create this lovely and highly accurate sketch.

This was the one morning I was out of coffee and I was suffering (I may be resigned to the instant stuff, but I still need it). I was so obsessed with the thought of coffee that in a teaching exercise I wrote an entire paragraph describing the perfect cappuccino, prompting Lindsey to create this lovely and highly accurate sketch.

Leave a Reply

